the price of patience

Standard

I really love the slow food movement and want to become more involved locally. Does subscribing to the slow food first coast chapter on facebook count? I knew my apple butter would definitely be considered slow food as it takes 12 or so hours to cook. I also know that is not necessarily what is meant by slow food, just real food prepared carefully and with pleasure.
This apple butter was done in just that way. I picked the apples from the farmer’s market with the intention of making the butter out of them and carefully peeled and cored them with this nifty old fashioned gadget and cooked them in the crockpot most of the afternoon and all night. My husband loves loves loves apple butter so I can’t wait for him to try it. Watching the family eat and enjoy will be the best part for me.

Leave a Reply

