In my kitchen this weekend

Standard

I have been puttering around the kitchen all day working on stuff. I made these 100% whole wheat muffins using the flour I ground up earlier. OMG, these are lighter than any other whole wheat muffin I have ever had. SO GOOD! I can’t wait to try more recipes with the fresh flour since I know that is what made such a difference.

I double roasted chickens a few days ago and we ate one that night and then I put one aside for tonight. We had a chicken salad but what is more important is what I did with the remains of the corpse. I made some chicken broth using the bones( scrap pile anyway from dinner prep) and cut up and onion and a few carrots and some parsley and salt. I simmered it for hours and now it is sitting in my fridge waited to get its fat skimmed. People in Beverly Hills pay lots of money for that, but I do it for free.

I also started some Apple Butter which smells great but takes FOREVER. I peeled about 5 apples and cored them and put them in the crock pot with some cinnamon and ground cloves and sugar.  It started on high for an hour and then goes on low for 9-11 hours. So the house smells like heaven and folks are roaming around looking for things to eat.

Because I have been in a very resourceful mood lately I also started some fruit scrap cider vinegar. I have never made vinegar before and this recipe is off of a food forum I like. The recipe is linked to No Impact Man but I didn’t see it on his site. So this is just all the scraps from the apples chopped up and a quart of water is poured over with a 1/4 cup of sugar mixed in and covered with a cloth and left out on your counter. for while. like weeks. hmmm.

So that’s most of it. I also made corn on the cob from the farmer’s market visit today and  that was pretty good with just butter and parsley. For dessert, we had some coconut ice cream made from coconut milk and shredded coconut added in. Dairy free.  It seems to help everyone’s tummies out better when we do without.

Leave a Reply

